PUBLISHED!

Even though it’s just in Penn State’s literary magazine, I’m bragging. :] I just love seeing my name in print. Kalliope‘s release party was on Wednesday, complete with open mic and free copies of the magazine. I now have multiple copies of the book in my room to show everyone in my family! I’m really proud of this story; I wrote it last fall for my intro creative writing class, and it’s one of the few pieces I can look back on and not hate, as self-critical as that sounds.

But what can I say? I’m a writer. And writer=perfectionist.

Our speaker at the release party was a PSU grad who’s in a creative writing program at another university now. He read two short stories, and of course I have a compulsive urge to start new projects now. Things have been crazy with school lately, and the inspiration is sporadic at best. Hopefully this summer I’ll have some new stuff to post here.

Thanks for reading!

4 thoughts on “PUBLISHED!

  1. This is SO COOL!! Just the first of many times that we are going to see your name in print, trust me!! 🙂
    This is my favorite of your creative nonfiction pieces. It gives us a look at the wonderful world of Bentley and the hilarious events that take place so often there. I remember when you first told me about the coffee fiasco and I thought I would die from laughing so much!

  2. I don’t care if this makes me sound like a broken record, I’m going to say it anyway: SO EXCITED FOR YOU!! This is definitely a big deal – and only the first of many, many times that your name will be in print.

    HUGE CONGRATULATIONS!!

    And this?

    And writer=perfectionist.

    SO TRUE!!

    1. thanks Shari! ❤ and honestly, the main reason i think i'm a CRAZY perfectionist is because of my writing. Sometimes I will just sit at my computer and STARE at the screen, trying to think of the perfect word for one of my sentences.

      But it's good though, it means we don't settle for less than the absolute best! :]

Leave a Reply

