Long time, no update!

I haven’t updated this blog in forever, mainly because I save it for writing news…and i haven’t had any lately. But I’m taking an Intro. Creative Writing class this semester, and i just had my first short story of the class workshopped! It’s called The New Neighbor, and it was my fourth attempt at the assignment. I’m glad I wrote this one instead of trying to make one of the others fit the criteria…this piece felt natural and just flowed out of me. I wrote it in one sitting.

Long story short (no pun intended), I posted it under the short stories category on this site. I’d love feedback on it! I’ll try and update more often with some of my pieces from the class as well.

2 thoughts on “Long time, no update!

  1. I’m beginning to feel like a broken record when I comment on your writing, but that’s okay. As always, you have such an incredible talent for imagery and description. You make the reader feel as though the scene is alive. There was something different about this piece, though. The vibe of it was so multi-layered: sad, peaceful, chilling, and even a bit hopeful at the end. I love the connection between your MC and Mary – it’s unexpected, but that makes it all the more special. It’s easy to see that writing this was natural for you. It came across in the work. There was just something about it that clicked. Fabulous job!

    1. thanks so much Shari (just logged back on here and noticed your comment)! I definitely think this piece was different than anything else i’ve written. It’s actually based in fact; my mom went to school with a woman who’s daughter just passed away recently, and when we visited the cemetery in NY (where my grandpa is), i saw her grave. The thing that stood out was the Twilight button. I just got so sad that she’d missed out on seeing the latest movie.
      This was the piece i wound up submitting for my creative writing class. Once i came up with the idea, it just flowed out of me. I just got the story back today (B+, which i’m really proud of because no one in my class got an A), and i’m itching to edit it using some of the super helpful comments my TA gave me!

Leave a Reply

